top of page


Online applications are accepted:  
February 25, 2024 - March 29, 2024

The Margaret Byrd Jones Foundation Inc.®, Shrink Less and Shine More Scholarship™, was created as an encouragement for deserving young women to never shrink themselves and always strive to reach their full potential.  This merit and needs-based scholarship is up to $1,500 and will be awarded one-time to a graduating high school senior(s). The scholarship is to be used to assist with the payment of tuition, room and board, books and/or fees.


  • A completed and submitted application (online form)

  • Minority female high school senior attending school in Leon, Jefferson, Gadsden, Orange, Osceola, Lake or Seminole County, Florida

  • Two (2) letters of recommendation

    • A community letter of recommendation from a community service representative or coordinator (should include​ information based on personal knowledge regarding the applicant's level of participation in the activity and how long the person has know applicant)

    • A scholastic recommendation letter from a staff/faculty member

    • Both letters must be an official letterhead and must be typewritten and signed

  • Applicant must demonstrate academic achievement, possessing a minimum GPA of 3.0 unweighted

  • Candidate must be accepted by an accredited college / university.

An unofficial high school transcript (ACT or SAT score listed) must be emailed to

Incomplete Applications WILL NOT be considered!


The recipient will be selected by panel review made up of board members and volunteers. Recipient will be notified by phone/email and asked to respond within a specified period. The scholarship award will be made payable to the awardee. 

The Margaret Byrd Jones Foundation Inc.®

Shrink Less and Shine More Scholarship Committee

P.O. Box 721387 

Orlando, Florida 32872

For more information please contact Dawn Kinder, Scholarship Chairman at


2015 - Tiana Jarrell

2016 - Jacob Long, Tyshun Thurman, Tremelody Robinson

2017 - Akylah Cox

2018 - Irene Dominque, Edna Ulysse

2019 - Kamalla Beams, Monicka Sylvester

2020 - DaiJah Francois, Sarah Bien-Aime

2021 - Kaci Nelson

2022 - Keionna Mackey, Kamryn Stevens, Destiny Thomas, Jada Baker

2023 - Marlowe Roberts, Aviah Brown

2024 - Rhianna Christian, Gabrielle Walters, Kelci Battey, Jade White and Janelle Baker

Want to quickly share the application?  Whip out your phone, open your camera app and hover over the QR Code below. 

bottom of page